RSS

A (somewhat) rare bird

Sunday, October 18, 2015

Learn More

Don't step on the orchids!

Sunday, August 30, 2015

Finding some orchids requires looking down at your feet.

Learn More

Why repot a brand new plant?

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

The wrong plant in the wrong pot can prove fatal to your new acquisition.

Learn More

Cold weather carnivores come inside

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Time to bring cold-sensitive plants inside

Learn More

Visit by the Orchid Curator of Beijing Botanic Garden

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Between Nov 21-23, 2014 Dr. Yu Zhang, The Orchid Curator of the Beijing Botanical Garden made a visit...

Learn More

Enhancing Research Links with the Bahamas National Trust

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Two FIU faculty with formal links with Fairchild traveled to Eleuthera (the Bahamas) between November 14 and 16. Dr. Javier Francisco-Ortega, Head of the FIU-FTBG Molecular Laboratory and Dr. Alejandro Barbieri from FIU-Biology made a visit to the Leon Levy Native Plant Preserve (Bahamas National Trust) where Dr. Barbieri delivered a talk entitled...

Learn More

Shhh! Monarchs are sleeping!

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Learn More

An Incredible Fairchild "Find"

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Learn More

A Surprise Garden Guest

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

The common bark scorpion isn't so common anymore.

Learn More

Plant Hunting in the Canary Islands

Friday, July 25, 2014

In July of 2014 Fairchild Herbarium Curator Dr. Brett Jestrow and FIU-Fairchild Faculty Dr. Javier Francisco-Ortega travelled to the Canary Islands to collect plant material for the Garden living collections and herbarium. The trip also aimed to develop links with one of the most venerable botanic gardens of Spain: The Jardín de Aclimatación de La Orotava on Tenerife. This botanic garden...

Learn More

12345678910Last